Tags

, ,

The world was ice yesterday. And the world is still ice today.

1123131327 Ice storm

And it isn’t even Thanksgiving yet!

But not to worry! Even though outside it looks like this…

IMG_1851

…indoors we are snuggled up on the couch, feeding a merry little- Okay, a big– Okay, fine, a giant fire in the woodstove. Whatever it looks like, we are NOT addicted pyromaniacs. We can stop whenever we want to. We just…don’t want to right now.

I’m being a good wife and not letting Paul set foot outside the house much, lest the cold and wind aggravate his recovering lungs. Which means all the chores are up to me, but I can handle that. Last night we both went to feed the horses, and I bundled him up til he looked like a cross between a yak and a Yeti, and it still gave him a relapse.

I DO have a long-suffering husband. How do I know? Because he is letting me post that.

Today all the mesquite thorns are sheathed in glittering clear icicles. I even saw an iced spiderweb.

But the slick ground.

Oh my holy cow.

Walking out to do chores was like wearing roller skates through the middle of a marble tournament.

The animals were glad to see me though. When those little critters come running, knowing I have come to take care of them, all the slick ice and cold wind is suddenly worth it. They depend on me.

Enough philosophy for today. My erstwhile goats have turned into a herd of fat, frosted little bears, with their fluffy winter coats.

Fat Bear #1, AKA Caramel:

Caramel

Fat Bear #2, AKA Oreo:

Oreo

Yep, it’s a good day in Bandit Land.

Oh, and just a tip I picked up along the way: you might be a redneck if you randomly find yourself looking at a pile of frozen, ice-glazed horse apples and thinking “You know, those look like Christmas tree ornaments. I wonder if…”

No, RC. No.